What are the stages of ITIL certification?

The stages of ITIL certification are:

  • ITIL Foundation
  • ITIL Practitioner
  • ITIL Intermediate
  • ITIL Expert
  • ITIL Master

Let’s explain each one in more depth.

ITIL Foundation

This is the entry-level certification that provides a general understanding of the key elements, concepts, and terminology used in the ITIL service lifecycle.

ITIL Practitioner

This level is designed to help improve the ability of individuals to adopt and adapt ITIL in organizations. It emphasizes the continual improvement part of the service lifecycle and how to implement it in a practical manner.

ITIL Intermediate

This level is modular, with a focus on different aspects of IT service management. It is divided into two paths:

  • Service Lifecycle, which includes Strategy, Design, Transition, Operation, and Continual Service Improvement.

  • Service Capability, which includes Operational Support and Analysis, Service Offerings and Agreements, Release, Control and Validation, and Planning, Protection and Optimization.

Candidates can choose to take modules from one or both paths.

ITIL Expert

This level requires a deep understanding of ITIL practices across all aspects of ITIL and is aimed at those who are interested in demonstrating a superior level of knowledge of ITIL. A certain number of credits from Foundation, Practitioner, and Intermediate levels are needed to qualify for this level.

ITIL Master

This is the highest level of ITIL certification. To achieve the ITIL Master certification, candidates must be able to explain and justify how they have personally selected and applied a range of knowledge, principles, methods, and techniques from ITIL and supporting management techniques, to achieve desired business outcomes in one or more practical assignments.

Each level of certification requires passing an exam. The higher levels (Intermediate, Expert, and Master) also require a certain number of credits, which are earned by passing the exams for the lower levels and specific modules. Always check with the official ITIL certification body or accredited training organizations for the most recent requirements and updates.